My Fortune Cookie Knows Me To Well

At a team lunch, this fortune appeared nestled away in the folds of a crisp layer of cookie perfection – it made me smile as I tucked it away in my purse for safe keeping and made me reflect on what entertains me. Recently, my mom, sister and I took on a new business adventure – an antique booth at Stars Antique Mall here in Portland, OR. So we’ve been scouring flea markets, Goodwill, garage sales, attics, closets, you name it to stock our booth.

I’ve enjoyed the process or “the hunt” as we refer to it; it warms my heart to find forgotten treasures and pictures of a time before my reality. It may seem materialistic to be so attached to possessions, but for me it’s a way to remember. The other day in a barn sale near Banks, OR I found a wood toy dog that was exactly like the one I played with for hours as a child at my great grandfather’s house while my mom and aunt took care of him in his final days. Finding the toy brought back a flood of feelings of pain, love, and anguish, along with pleasant memories of the hand tricks he used to teach me or the weathered smile that peaked out under his gigantic nose.

He was the only real grandfather I had in my life, and I was quite young when he passed away. His nose and smile now reside with that toy dog. So for now, thank you I’ll keep my junking hobby. It makes me happy and that little dog sits right next to my front door. On my way out every day, he makes me smile and remember how loved I was and am by my family.

However, this new hobby has had one downfall, I’ve been a bad, bad, bloggerette and have been neglecting LuckyChristi. I know, I know it’s all about discipline. Blogher is just around the corner and it will be the creative fuel I need to get me back on the path. I can’t wait for the conference; I’m giddy at the prospect of being surrounded by so many incredible and intelligent women. Watch out New York, you’re about to be invaded by brilliance.

Leave a comment